Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background

This week’s photo challenge was indeed a bit of a challenge for me. Hopefully I’ve achieved it with a few of these pics.

“The places that we pass through day after day, or even once in a lifetime, leave in their small way, echoes and traces of themselves upon us. But so often when taking self portraits or pictures of friends, the places themselves become a soft blurred mush of indistinct semi-nothingness, the limelight stolen by our smiling faces. Let’s turn the tables. Take a picture of yourself or someone else as a shadow, a reflection, or a lesser part of a scene, making the background, or the foreground, the center of attention.”

My Dog Papillon enjoying the ride. Where's the background, where's the foreground? They're both everywhere in this shot.

My Dog Papillon enjoying the ride. Where’s the background, where’s the foreground? I love how they’re both everywhere in this shot.

My Brother in Hilton Head. I love how nature just sort of envelops the photo and he's like an accessory.

My Brother in Hilton Head. I love how nature just sort of envelops the photo and he’s like an accessory.

My cousin in Hilton Head. Again, feels like she's an accessory to the landscape.

My cousin in Hilton Head. Again, feels like she’s an accessory to the landscape.

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background

  1. Great pictures, all! The last two look so much like California (except they don’t have trees like those in the last picture, not anyway in the part of California I live in)

  2. Pingback: An Irish General… and me | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

