One Year Anniversary

Yippee. Break out the champagne!

-Not that I wait for special occasions to pop open a bottle of bubbles.  As far as I’m concerned, any day that ends in Y is special occasion enough.   I got a notice from WordPress, though, that it has been one year since I started this blog.  So a toast and a brief speech to my little anniversary is in order.

One year ago I was sitting in the exact seat I’m in now trying to figure out if I wanted to do this blog thing or not. -Did I have enough intriguing stories to tell about myself?  Would anyone outside the realm of my bloodline be even remotely interested? Would I have enough discipline to follow through on a regular basis & keep it going?

Fact of the matter is, after a year I’m still struggling with some version of those same questions.  I procrastinate. I don’t document 1/10th of the things I do.  I know I should. I know there are plenty of interesting things going on that I could write about that would keep the general public captivated & possibly amused. The problem is, when I sit down to write  get a bit of writer’s block & end up not finishing most of my posts. Every time I do manage to get inspired enough to finish one I think “I’ve got to keep up on this more often.” -Then I don’t.

When I stared this, I had no intention on trying to amass a great amount of followers, I mostly did it because so many people have told me I should write a book about my life. I decided a blog was a good place to start, and I definitely need to keep it up. It’s worth sharing.  -And once I post this, I’ll say to myself that it really wasn’t that hard, and I really need to commit to updating it more regularly.

Then I’ll vow to do so.

Then I won’t for long periods in between.

Because I’ll be busy living my life, and you probably won’t hear about most of it due to the fact that I will have slacked off again.  But at least I’m making an effort & one thing that inspires me now is that I have 45 followers (not many after a year, I know, but infinitely more than I imagined when I started!). People from all around our blue planet who think that I have something remotely alluring to say, that you will take a few minutes from you precious day to read a bit about what’s happening in my little corner of the world.

That’s just amazing to me.

So all you out there, whom I will probably never meet, thanks for showing interest in who I am and what I do. You’ve inspired me to keep on keepin’ on.  To those I do know, thanks for being part of my life and encouraging me.  To WordPress, thanks for giving us all the tool in which to achieve this magical way of reaching into each other’s worlds.

Cheers, friends!

You’ll hear from me again soon… Really.

One thought on “One Year Anniversary

  1. Pingback: 50th Post! | My Island Life

Leave a Reply

