73 Days

How do seventy three days buzz right by without me once giving my poor little wordpress blog an ounce of attention?

In my defense, it has been 73 of the most hectic days of the year by the majority of the population’s standards. Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years.  By my standards it is undoubtedly the most hectic. Not because I’m spending my time battling holiday crowds in shopping malls or preparing family dinners, but because work-wise for me and most of the inhabitants of this island, this is when the real work needs to be done. This is what we prepare for all year long. These few weeks when the big boys are in town spending their big money, flaunting their big status.

The end of the year holidays are the sacrifice we make to enjoy our peaceful existence the rest of the year. So In my defense, I was working.  Not so much in my defense, if I am going to be truly honest with myself and with you, I really could have etched out some time to have contributed to this blog when I wasn’t working. Of course I had some free time in these past 2+ months.  Truth be told, during those moments I was either playing (my life’s motto, Work Hard, Play Harder) or just plain lazy.  Oh and I had Dengue Fever. But that’s another excuse -I mean story- for another time.

We are now nearly 2 weeks into 2014 and I could resolve to not be so lazy, or not to play so hard, but that would mean that I’d also have to resolve to have better follow-through & accountability with myself.  Who needs that kind of self-inflicted pressure?  How ’bout I just share some pretty pictures with you now instead. Here’s a bit of what I’ve been up to since November. Pictures tell a lot more anyway, don’t they.

Happy New Year!

All Saint's Day. Was very stormy. Didn't make it to the cemetery. Nov 1

All Saint’s Day. Was very stormy. Didn’t make it to the cemetery. Nov 1

Red Sox victory parade! Nov 2

Red Sox victory parade! Nov 2

Art exhibition opening. Nov 2

Art exhibition opening. Nov 2

My Island Dogs. Papillon & Suka. Nov 6

My Island Dogs. Papillon & Suka. Nov 6

Papillon on a clean day. Nov 6

Papillon on a clean day. Nov 6

Papillon on a not-so-clean day. Nov 8

Papillon on a not-so-clean day. Nov 8

Nov 8 Sunset

Nov 8 Sunset

I made a lamp for my friend. Nov 17

I made a lamp for my friend. Nov 17

Fixed a pressure switch for a water pump. Nov 18

I fixed a pressure switch for a water pump (all by myself!) Nov 18

Cosmopolitains at Baz Bar with my girls. Nov 21

Cosmopolitains at Baz Bar with my girls. Nov 21

Went paddle boarding. Nov 23

Went paddle boarding. Nov 23

Close encounter with approaching plane. Nov 26

Close encounter with approaching plane. Nov 26

Back at Baz Bar. Dec 8

Back at Baz Bar. Dec 8

Suka needed a cone to allow a wound to heal. Dec 8

Suka needed a cone to allow a wound to heal. Dec 8

Another approaching plane. Dec 12

Another approaching plane. Dec 12

Birthday Lunch with friends. Dec 12

Birthday Lunch with friends. Dec 12

Island Tour for my South African Friend. Dec 13

Island Tour for my South African Friend. Dec 13

glitter stars photo opp. Dec 13

glitter stars photo opp. Dec 13

Swimming in Colombier Bay. Dec 14.

Swimming in Colombier Bay. Dec 14.

Last sushi meal of 2013! Dec 18

Last sushi meal of 2013! Dec 18

Champagne at Hermes. Dec 20

Champagne at Hermes. Dec 20

My Christmas tree. Dec 24

My Christmas tree. Dec 24

Christmas Day Dinner w/ English friends. Dec 25

Christmas Day Dinner w/ English friends. Dec 25

Beautiful Christmas Day in Gustavia Harbor. Dec 25

Beautiful Christmas Day in Gustavia Harbor. Dec 25

All Male fashion show! First in St. Barth. Dec 29

All Male fashion show! First in St. Barth. Dec 29

Big Boys in Gustavia Harbor by night. Dec 29

Big Boys in Gustavia Harbor by night. Dec 29

Big Boys in Gustavia Harbor by day. Dec 31

Big Boys in Gustavia Harbor by day. Dec 31

Leave a Reply

